

MEDIA STATEMENT

03 August 2020

MINISTER DIDIZA APPOINTS ONDERSTERPOORT BIOLOGICAL PRODUCTS (OBP) INTERIM BOARD

The Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development Ms Thoko Didiza, MP has appointed the Interim Board of the Onderstepoort Biological Products (OBP) Board of Directors following the expiry of the term of office of the current board on 31 July 2020.

The Minister has appointed the interim board in terms of clause 7.1.2 the Memorandum of Incorporation of the OBP, read together with section 66(4)(a)(i) of the Companies Act, 71 of 2008. The board shall consist of seven (7) members as required by the Onderstepoort Biological Products (OBP) Act 19 of 1999.

This interim Board consist of the seven (7) members, 5 (five) members who served on the previous board and two (2) new additional members. Their urgent mandate is to finalise the current audit process and to compile the close out report.

The Minister also wishes to assure all stakeholders and members of the public that the process to appoint the new board is at an advanced stage and will be concluded soon.

"Following allegations of mismanagement and wrong doing within the OBP, I have tasked the Director-General Mr Mdu Shabane to establish a process to ensure that all allegations raised by various stakeholders are investigated without fear or favour," said Minister Didiza.

The following seven (7) members will serve as the interim board:

- Dr Boitshoko Ntshabele (Interim Chair)
- 2. Dr Manishree Jugmohan-Naidu (member)
- 3. Mr Tshililo Ramabulane (member)
- 4. Dr Charlotte Nkuna (member)
- 5. Dr Pieter Vervoort (member)
- 6. Mr Yaasir Haffejee(member)
- 7. Ms Fulufhelo Mphuthi (member)

The Minister thanks the members of the interim board and wishes them well whilst they collectively lead the company towards the realisation of its mandate.

For media enquiries contact the media liaison Officer Mr Reggie Ngcobo on 082 883 2458.

Issued by the Department Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development